top of page

Haircare Routine

Haircare Routine

My hair is what I would describe as - awkward! It's always been thin and dry, both naturally and in part to my highlighting habit! Until I was 8 I had platinum blonde hair and since then it has slowly become darker and more mousy coloured. Blonde has always suited my pale complexion and as such I have been having my locks highlighted every couple of months for years. At one point I even went for an all over bleach in my quest for white blonde hair, something I definitely regret as it ravaged my hair! Since then I have toned it down a lot and try to avoid using bleach when possible, but I still do have my blonde highlights topped up regularly, however unsurprisingly I do find my hair easily becomes weak, dull and dehydrated. So this is my routine for keeping my hair as healthy and happy as possible.

The most unusual thing about my haircare routine, is that I very rarely shampoo. I'm talking once every three weeks. When I do wash it, I use the Bleach London Silver Shampoo to neutralise any brassy tones. After searching around for the best silver shampoo (I wrote a blog post on it here) I use this one as it is not as harsh on my hair and does not leave it feeling brittle.

If my roots do seem to be a little greasy which is very rare, I use the Theorie Argan Oil Ultimate Reform Shampoo just in the roots.

I do wash my hair everyday, but only with conditioner! I use a mixture of Pantene Pro-V Repair & Protect Conditioner for weak and damaged hair (that I forgot to photograph!) and Ogx Reviving + Vitamin E Conditioner. People always ask if just using conditioner makes my hair greasy, but this combination really doesn't!

After conditioning and whilst still in the shower I take a small scoop of the Dove Regenerate Nourishment Rescue Creme Mask. The tub says 'for damaged, extremely distressed hair' and it really does work and leaves my hair feeling silky and smooth.

Talking of creme masks, Once or twice a week, after conditioning, I massage a scoop of ORS HAIRepair Intense Moisture Creme in to the lengths of my hair. This cream is made with avocado and coconut oils and is made for dry and damaged hair, so is perfect for leaving in overnight. I do have to wash it out in the morning as it can leave your hair a little tacky feeling.

In to damp hair, I run a small amount of Ogx Reviving + Vitamin E Penetrating Oil through the lengths of my hair. I also use a small amount of the Number 4 Lumier D'hiver Fluro5 Elixir Restore and Repair Oil on the driest part of my hair; the ends. This stuff is amazing and so concentrated. In the roots I spray Nanogen Root Boost Hair Thickening Spray. It contains Keratin and Niacinamide to help provide thickness from the roots and prevent breakage.

Before drying and whilst still wet, I spray Osmo Thermal Defense as heat protector. When nearly dry I lightly spritz VO5 Heat Protetct Spray as this gives my a hair a soft and shine finish and helps keep fly-a-ways at bay.

When my hair is feeling particularly dry, I use an Argan Oil from Morocco Repairing Deep Conditioner HASK. After conditioning my hair in the shower I massage half a sachet all over my hair, wrap my hair in a towel and leave for half an hour.


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page