top of page

Battle of the Silver Shampoos

Battle of the Silver Shampoo

I've been dying and highlighting my hair blonde for a very long time. I'm fairly pale and freckly and so in order not to wash my face out, I prefer cooler, ashy tones and am on a constant war path against warm, yellow tones. To avoid overly regular trips to the hairdresser, I use purple toning shampoo.

Hair Xpertise Argan Blonde Silverising Shampoo

This shampoo is by far the easiest to lather and I was really surprised to find that it actually dried my hair out significantly. It is the nicest out of the three bottles, with good pigmentation and a metallic purple tone, but felt more watery than the other two. It does eliminate brassiness and leaves a really nice light blonde rather than silver tone.

£5.99 for 250ml (on offer in Superdrug for £3.99)

Bleach London Silver Shampoo

This shampoo contains wheat proteins and vitamin b5 and leaves my hair feeling soft and light, this means you can also use the product more than once a week without risking dry, brittle hair. It is in aesthetically pleasing packaging however the bottle has a very unpractical lid (I decant mine in to smaller squeezy bottles). It is the most pigmented dark purple tone, however it doesn't lather well and I find myself having to apply generously in order to get full coverage. This shampoo works amazingly as a toner and is great for eliminating brassy yellows and highlighting cool, ashy tones. However if you leave it on for too long you do risk bleached highlights becoming totally white/silver. Personally I find this best for my hair type and colour and at £5.00 is great value for money.

£5.00 250ml

Pro-voke Touch of Silver

This was the first silvering shampoo I ever used on recommendation from my hairdresser after having my hair bleached. I used it for a long time, and it is very affordable. However, like the Bleach shampoo I find it doesn't lather too well and a generous amount of product is needed in order to get the desired effect. This purple toner is more metallic and subtle, meaning no risk of purple hair, but isn't the best for eliminating very brassy tones and left my hair feeling very dry. Unlike the other two products that are slightly acidic, this shampoo has a much nicer perfume.

£3.19 150ml (on offer in Superdrug for £2.12)

Best value for money: Bleach London Silver Shampoo

Best toner: Hair Xpertise

Easiest to Lather: Bleach London Silver Shampoo

Best scent: Pro Voke Touch of Silver Most nourishing: Bleach London Silver Shampoo

Best bottle: Hair Xpertise

In Lucy Land Overall Winner: Bleach London Silver Shampoo

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page