top of page

New Year, Same Me, Different Goals

New Year, Same Me, Different Goals.

I find it the saying 'new year, new me' very odd. I'm not changing my personality, I just have different goals I want to achieve! 2016 was a dreadful year in the sense of the wider world (Brexit, Trump... need I go on?) but In Lucy Land it was pretty darn okay! I visited Boa Vista, Berlin, Kos and Edinburgh, Matt and I moved in together and I love my degree and job. It's also been challenging. I feel as though I lost a lot of friends this year, my health went downhill a little and my anxiety started to get out of hand at uni. But I had a fabulous Christmas and whilst I am the same me, it's a new year and I've set myself some new goals!

My New Year, Same Me, Different Goals:

1. Don't let my anxiety turn down opportunities - I said 'no' far too many times to opportunities I wish I'd had the confidence to take. Next time my friends ask me to a restaurant, I will say yes instead of worrying that there won't be any food I like!

2. Nourish my body - I've put my body under a lot of strain over the past few years. Instead of continuing to run off the bare minimum, I'm going to make sure my body gets all the nutrients it needs to achieve my goals this year.

3. Stop putting things off - whether it be going to the doctors, speaking up about a problem or calling my landlord to fix my washing machine, I'm going to stop putting things off because I think I'll be bothering people!

4. Go to all my lectures - anxiety controlled me a lot by the end of last year and meant that if I knew I had a lecture in a hall I felt 'trapped' in, instead of confronting the fear, I just wouldn't go. It meant I missed a lot of uni! I want to achieve a 1st a uni, and doing lectures from my laptop at home isn't going to achieve that!

5. Make more time for the people who care about me and forget those who don't - this is a big one for me I worry all the time about people who I used to be close with or care about, who seemingly no longer give a doodle pip about me. Instead of wracking my brain over what I could've possibly done wrong, I'm going to just stop worrying about it and spend that time with the people who do care for me.

6. Look forward not back - I often feel sad about things I've lost or that used to be. Well not this year. I'm lucky to have what I do and instead of feeling sorry for myself over what I've lost, I'm looking forward!


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page