top of page

Why It's Hard To Be Vegan

Why It's Hard To Be Vegan

It's hard to be vegan. Not in the sense of not being able to eat cheese or chocolate (and no I don't miss it) or finding food in restaurants (although I am currently sat looking at a menu with a note that says 'vg' for vegan, but with no actual options), or even that you get asked 'so what do you eat for an average meal?' multiple times, daily. It's hard because it's become a joke, a constant meme on Facebook and twitter jibe.

It's hard to be vegan because I don't want to tell anyone!

Which is ironic as the stereotype of vegans is that we're all angry, preaching activists that like to parade around naked shouting "meat is murder". Unlike the jokes I see everyday on my newsfeed, I actually won't tell anyone I'm vegan unless they ask or it comes up in conversation! I have strong beliefs and no matter how many times someone may tell me I need animal produce for protein, calcium or iron (okay self appointed doctor, you may return to your burger now you've finished telling me how unhealthy my diet is), it really isn't going to make a difference to my views. I've been doing it long enough now to know how to give my body the nutrients it needs.

Of course there are going to be some egotistical vegans who will shove their views down your throat and think they're better than everyone else for sacrificing bacon - but I like to keep my views to myself, as do most other vegans I know! It's just a different lifestyle choice. We're not all bra burning hippies either, so get the idea of all vegans having dreadlocks and wearing multicoloured linen trousers out your head - I'm 100% more likely going to be seen in a pair of Topshop skinny jeans.

I'm a very positive person, but the number of times I see jokes about veganism on social media has really been getting to me. If you don't agree with it, that's fine, but don't make me feel ashamed of living in a way I feel passionate about. I live with my boyfriend who eats animal produce and although he now thinks more about where his food comes from, he still chooses to eat it, which is totally fine by me! So stop tarring all vegans with the same brush!

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page