top of page

Travel Box DIY Project

Travel Box DIY Project

Imagine the scene. It's a Saturday evening, I don't have work the next day or any other commitments. So what do I do? That's right, I'm not meeting friends or going out, I'm off to Asda to pick up some crafty bits and bobs for a spur of the moment DIY Project!

Whilst I was in Carlisle a few months ago, I saw a Travel Fund Box, basically a box with a slot in the top for you to pop loose change in to save for travelling. I'm always looking for my next adventure and thought this was a great idea. Instead of paying £20 for the box, I decided to have a go at making my own and instead of putting change in (which I would never remember to do!) I wanted to put the names of all the places I want to visit on, the idea being the next time I want to book an adventure i pick out the name of a country or city!

All you need is:

Three 9 x 9 inch box frames (I got mine on offer in Asda)

A patterned background and trim paper (mine was a cut up party bag from Asda)

Some lace trim

A sharpie

A chisel

How To:

1. Start by taking the back off 2 of the frames, the front and middle ones, and remove the glass from the middle and back frame.

2. Cover the back with your paper or paint, decorating as you wish.

3. Using the remainder of the paper or another decoration of your choice line the inside of the front frame to create a 3D effect and cover the black frame clips.

4. On the middle frame, chisel a slot out of the middle, thick enough to get a piece of card in and out. I chose to use a bit of lace to disguise the rough edges!

5. Glue the frames together, to create your box.

5. Write down the names of the places you want to visit and pop them in. You can add more as you think of them!

And there you have it, the perfect DIY project for adventure lovers!

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page