top of page

Birchbox September Review

Birchbox September Review

It was a very exciting moment when the postman came with a little pink box emblazoned with Birchbox on the side; can you tell I'm a beauty addict?! The September box was the first of my new subscription, so look out for a monthly Birchbox post from now on!

This month was the 'Heroes' box, designed to optimise your beauty routine. The box was designed by Philippa Colliass and on a dull day the pop of pastel geometric print was fab.

The Products

Amiga Bombshell Blowout Spray (RRP £14.99)

I love, love, love this product. My hair is very fine and this adds some much needed volume. You only need a small amount and it doesn't weight down hair or leave any residue. It contains antioxidants to strengthen and repair, making it a perfect all-in-one (that smells divine too!). I will definitely be looking in to purchasing the full size version of this product.

Nuxe Prodigieux Shower Oil (RRP £10)

When I opened my Birchbox it was the Nuxe product that jumped out at me, most likely due to the recognisable name and golden colour. However, out of all the products this is the one I have felt a little disappointed by. It's an in shower body oil that is supposed to leave a golden glow. It's okay, and does absorb nicely in to the skin, but I wasn't blown away by the sparkle or smell.

Puriskin Nurse Aid Cream for Hands and Nails (RRP £12.99)

I rather over looked this little gem to start with, after being gifted so many body lotions and hand creams it's easy to par them off as the same. This cream proved me wrong and leaves my hands feeling soft and smooth. It doesn't have the best smell, but moisture is whipped in to your hands almost instantly and doesn't make me feel as though I need to wash my hands afterwards. After only applying a small amount over a few days, I have already noticed a difference in my cuticles.

Bliss Fabulous Drench 'n' Quench Moisturiser (RRP £29.50)

I'm always a little sceptical when it comes to moisturiser, hating the feel of a heavy, sticky product. My skin type is dry and this little beauty has packed some serious moisture and hydration. Lightweight and instantly absorbed, it leaves my skin feeling fabulous. If it wasn't for the hefty price tag I would 100% buy the full size version when my mini runs out.

ModelCo Highlighting Trio (RRP £14)

For this full sized product I had the choice out of a Creme Rouge or the Highlighting Trio. I own several lip and cheek tints so went for the latter. The three colours are gorgeous creamy pigments and a great little trio for highlighting or as an eyeshadow base.

In Lucy Land loving

Amiga Bombshell Blowout Spray

A little lack lustre

Luxe Prodigieux Shower Oil

Worth the £10?

The highlighting trio alone is worth £14, so definitely value for money.

Overall Impression

I was pleasantly surprised with the September Birchbox, the box design is adorable and it introduced me to a couple of new products I will definitely be looking to keep using in the future.

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page