top of page

Festival Survival Kit

Festival Survival Kit

This is a re-blog of a post I wrote on my old blog 2 summers ago. It was before I headed off to my first ever festival. I managed one night before checking in to a hotel. Needless to say for a hygiene freak festivals are not my thing! And going to Reading as my first ever festival was like jumping in at the deep end filled with sharks!

FESTIVAL FEARS

This time next week I will be (fingers crossed – come on British weather!) showing off the tan I acquired in Kiotari this summer, at… Reading Festival! And let me tell you; nervous is an understatement! As the first large festival I have ever been to, I am furiously writing and re-writing checklists like it’s nobody’s business. But it’s all for the better good and I am super excited to get some great photos and write all about the amazing and alternative outfits and trends I spot over the weekend. As your insight into my life with Hopie Pie has probably suggested, I’m not quite your regular teenager and rather than camping as close to the stage as possible in the smallest tent available (so as to leave more room for alcohol of course), I will be happily snapping away and enjoying one of my favourite hobbies ‘outfit-spotting’ from my pink and blue floral teepee.

So here for newbie festival go-ers and regulars alike, I have compiled my very own:

The essentials I will not be leaving home without!

  • First and foremost is personal hygiene! Now, I’ve never been to a proper festival, however what I do know about them is that cleanliness is removed from its perch next to godliness and moved to the bottom of the pile. I openly admit that I’m a little bit of a (major) hygiene freak, so the idea of a weekend without hot running water is a bit of a nightmare. Therefore, the first item to go in Lucy’s Survival Kit is:

Hand sanitiser

Hand sanitiser is a must! I got my antibacterial hand gel with aloe vera for £1.20 for 100ml at Sainsbury’s.

  • Although there are showers, the idea of standing in a queue for hours to wash in the same cold water as everyone else has lead me to find an alternative to staying fresh and fragrant. Therefore the next items to make it in to Lucy’s Survival Kit are:

Mini deodorant

I am a chronic over packer, so the mini toiletries I found in Superdrug will be perfect for cramming in to an already over filled case. I got this 35ml Nivea invisible 48hr protection (perfect for a festival!) mini deodorant for a bargain £1.06.

Wet wipes

Another necessity is wet wipes. These Simple ‘kind to skin’ cleansing wipes double up as both wet wipes and makeup remover and are perfect for freshening up after a hard day jumping up and down to whichever artist is on stage and trudging through mud all day. At £2.16 for 25 wipes, they will not break the bank and one packet should suffice the whole weekend. On the subject of remaining fragrant, my Flora by Gucci body spritz will also be making it in to my survival kit, although I am well aware that I am not the regular festival go-er and this won’t be priority for most of my fellow festivalers!

  • If any one else is like myself and suffers with limp, dry hair, going without washing it for a couple of days is not the end of the world and if anything will add volume and aid the festival look. However, even for those of us with weaker hair, dry shampoo is frankly a gift from a higher force and although I could buy it in a mini version, even on a regular day I don’t use it sparingly so grabbed the 200ml ‘Floral and Flirty Blush’ Batiste dry shampoo from Superdrug for a bargain £1.49.Dry shampoo

Dry shampoo

It smells great and is amazing at neutralizing oily hair and adding volume.

Anther great product I’ve got for my kit is Talc. No, I’ve not suddenly aged 50 years, my best friend recommended it to me and honestly try adding a little to your roots and you’ll be amazed! Especially great for blondes.

This mini version from Superdrug cost me £1.09.

  • Next on my list is a microfibre towel. Again – I told you I’m not a well rehearsed camper! However, I think everyone should have one of these nifty things. They are lighter and more compact than regular towels and whip away water in a second. They also have the advantage of drying much faster, which is great if the weather remains resoundingly British.

  • As my mother keeps reminding me, although I will be with friends I have to be on high alert over the safety of myself and my belongings at all time! I won’t be taking anything of sentimental value and shall keep my purse, phone and camera on me at all times (I plan to sleep with them under my pillow!). Therefore the next essentials to make it in to Lucy’s Festival Survival Kit are:

A torch and a rape alarm. I have a great one that doubles up as both, although you have to be careful to flick the right switch if you just want the light!

  • Carrying on the theme of safety, is a travel size first aid kit.

First aid kit

This one from Superdrug is only £4.99 and you can put your own paracetemol and any other personal medication in the travel case, making it a must.

  • I will go in to much more detail in another blog about outfits, however, the one thing I think really deserves its essential status and place in Lucy’s Festival Survival Kit, is a pair of wellies. It doesn’t matter if you’re a Hunter’s girl or are happy with the cheapest pair you can come across in Primark – you will be glad you have them if it rains and you’re up to your knees in mud! Even if there’s a miracle and the sun is shining, a pair of wellies with knee high socks are a fab festival look.

Wellies

For years I was committed to the Hunters cause, but recently tried new British company ‘Sporting Hare’ who have been dubbed ‘the comfiest wellies’ and I totally agree. Named the ‘Ascot’, they pay to a countryside homage to the elite sporting event with their classy gloss finish. I will be wearing my ‘nautical blue’ pair with knee high socks everyday and am planning my outfits around them accordingly. On the subject of socks I picked up a bargain today in Lewes from New Look and bought three pairs for £2.99. Although they are grey and fairly non-descript, I couldn’t leave such a great price and will jazz them up myself with a ribbon trim to complement my wellies.

  • Earplugs are something I am a little dubious about. Unlike my friends I do not cope very well with a lack of sleep and so have decided to place my teepee in the quieter white campsite in an attempt to get some sleep. However, I will be taking some earplugs with me, as although they seem awfully uncomfortable, if needs must I’m sure I’ll be grateful at 3am in the morning trying to block out Blink 182.

Earplugs

These foam ones with a carry case are £1.23 for three from Superdrug.

  • Tissues and toilet roll are an obvious must, especially this year after Reading have stated they will not be providing it. I’m sure it is possible to pinch some from your home bathroom cabinet and you can buy pocket sized packets for next to nothing.

From Sainsubury’s, a pack of 10 will set you back £1.65.

  • Another obvious essential to go in to Lucy’s Festival survival guide is your toothbrush and toothpaste. Especially with the lack of showering facilities, the small act of brushing your teeth is guaranteed to make you feel a million times more human in a morning.

  • A pair of sunglasses, no matter what the weather, will be a saviour after limited sleep and you can pull off secretly hiding black bags around your eyes for a sultry fashion accessory! I will be taking my floral embellished Urban Outfitters glasses.

  • Although not everyone will agree, I consider my makeup a vital essential! Due to the lack of space I have chosen my Eveline mascara, Clinique foundation/concealer and stand out purple Rimmel lipstick. (More to come on festival makeup in a later blog).

  • Obviously it goes without saying you will need a sleeping bag and a pillow. There are loads of sleeping bags available on the market at a variety of prices. It’s totally up to you how much you’re willing to pay. Luckily my brother is allowing me to borrow his 4 seasons one, so I shall be covered for all weather eventualities.

To be completely honest, the festival scene was not for me! The best fun I had was dressing up in bandanas, dungarees and knee high socks so it actually looked like I knew what I was doing! I did however meet some great people. Looking back, hand sanitiser is your best friend, the toilets were gag inducing! Also, bring a blanket! I may have got lucky with the weather, but the evenings were freezing which was what eventually led to me packing up my teepee and trekking back to my car at 1am!


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page