top of page

Kate by Rimmel

Kate by Rimmel

Kate Moss is a fashion inspiration, so it was no surprise when she brought out her own range of makeup product. Teamed up with Rimmel London she has created a selection of makeup products, most notably her lipstick range. I'm always a little dubious of celebrity endorsements, thinking the quality is probably diminished with no effect on price due to the celebrity who has most likely had little to no input on the product except to attach their name for the money. For this reason, in the past I have steered clear of any celebrity named makeup range. However driven by rave reviews from friends, I decided to give them a go and bought a selection of 4 (from Boots on a buy-one-get-one-half-price promotion) in the shades 05, 30, 32 and 110. My aim was to chose a variety of colours that could take me from day to night in hues that compliment my skin tone.

Shade 32

I love, love, love this shade! I normally avoid nudes as I have fair skin and feel they make me looked washed out, but this tone had enough 'peach' to avoid this. Out of the four colours this is the one I have worn most!

Shade 110

This one was some what of a gamble! From the Matte collection I was dubious as to whether I would be able to pull off such an intense colour, but I loved the swatch so thought why not give it a go! Although too bold for me on a day to day to basis it is a fabulous summer shade and I will be packing this lipstick on my holidays.

Shade 05

My makeup wardrobe includes a lot of pretty pinks, so this was a safe option for me!

Shade 30

I have no shame in admitting I only picked this shade because it is the one Kate is wearing in the advert! The colour is incredible and although too bold for me to wear to uni, is definitely the lipstick I find my self reaching for on a night out!

What I Loved

. The intense colours and pigmentation - quality has not been compromised!

. The range of colours - there is a shade to suit everyone and all seasons!

. The price - I paid £5.45 and had two half price, a total bargain!

Not So Much

. Rimmel claims the lipsticks las up to 8 hours, however I found reapplication was needed after about 2.

. I have dry lips and some of the shades highlighted the cracks rather than smoothed over.

Overall for the price you can't go wrong and I will be filling up my makeup bag with even more of these little beauties shortly!

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page